U.S. Senate Approves Nomination of Alan Krueger as Chairman of President's Council of Economic Advisers

Nov 9, 2011

The U.S. Senate on November 3, 2011 unanimously confirmed Alan Krueger to be the new chairman of President Barack Obama's Council of Economic Advisers (CEA). Krueger is the Bendheim Professor of Economics and Public Affairs at the Woodrow Wilson School and is also the founding director of the Princeton University Survey Research Center.

The Council of Economic Advisers, an agency within the Executive Office of the President, is charged with offering the president objective economic advice on the formulation of both domestic and international economic policy. The Council bases its recommendations and analysis on economic research and empirical evidence, using the best data available to support the President in setting our nation's economic policy.

Krueger was nominated to the position by President Obama on August 29, 2011.   The Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee held a confirmation hearing on his nomination on September 22, 2011, and his nomination was unanimously approved by that committee on October 6, 2011.

Krueger has published widely on the economics of education, unemployment, labor demand, income distribution, social insurance, labor market regulation, terrorism and environmental economics.   Krueger recently returned to the Wilson School after serving as assistant secretary for Economic Policy and chief economist of the U.S. Department of the Treasury in 2009 to 2010. From 1994 to 1995 he served as chief economist at the U.S. Department of Labor. 

Krueger is the author of What Makes A Terrorist: Economics and the Roots of Terrorism and Education Matters: A Selection of Essays on Education, and co-author of Myth and Measurement: The New Economics of the Minimum Wage, and co-author of Inequality in America: What Role for Human Capital Policies? He has been a member of the board of directors of the Russell Sage Foundation, MacArthur Foundation, and the American Institutes for Research, as well as a member of the editorial board of Science (2001-09), editor of the Journal of Economic Perspectives (1996-2002) and co-editor of the Journal of the European Economic Association (2003-05).