Ted Cruz '92 Sworn-in as U.S. Senator from Texas

Jan 3, 2013

Ted Cruz  '92 has become the newest U.S. Senator from Texas, having taken his oath of office in the U.S. Senate Chamber on January 3, 2013. Cruz, who becomes Texas' first ever Latino U.S. Senator, replaces Kay Bailey Hutchison who chose not to seek reelection. Cruz, a Republican, defeated his Democratic opponent by a 57-41 percentage on November 6, 2012.

Cruz served as the Solicitor General of Texas from 2003 to 2008, and became not only the first Hispanic Solicitor General in Texas, but also the youngest Solicitor General in the United States. Prior to his election to the U.S. Senate he was a partner at the law firm of Morgan, Lewis & Bockius in Houston, where he led the firm’s U.S. Supreme Court and national Appellate Litigation practice. From 2004 to 2009, he also was an adjunct professor of law at the University of Texas School of Law.
Prior to serving as Solicitor General, Cruz served as the director of the office of policy planning at the Federal Trade Commission and as an associate deputy attorney general at the U.S. Department of Justice. Senator Cruz also clerked for Chief Justice William Rehnquist on the U.S. Supreme Court.

Following graduation from the Woodrow Wilson School, Cruz went on to graduate Harvard Law School, where he served as primary editor of the Harvard Law Review, and executive editor of the Harvard Journal of Law & Public Policy, and a founding editor of the Harvard Latino Law Review.

Cruz becomes the second current member of the U.S. Senate who graduated from the Woodrow Wilson School, joining Senator Jeff Merkley MPA ’82, from the state of Oregon.

Joining Senator Cruz in being sworn in as members of the 113th United States Congress are Representatives:

Derek Kilmer ’96, representing the 6th Congressional District of Washington;

Leonard Lance MPA ’82, who represents the 7th Congressional District of New Jersey;

John P. Sarbanes ’84, representing the 3rd Congressional District of Maryland; and

Terri A. Sewell ’86, who represents the 7th Congressional District of Alabama