News & Awards

Reinhardt Awarded Outstanding Leadership in Health Care Award

Dec 9, 2013
Eric Wilkens
Woodrow Wilson School

Uwe Reinhardt, James Madison Professor of Political Economy and Professor of Economics and Public Affairs in the Woodrow Wilson School (WWS), is the recipient of the National Institute of Health Care Management’s (NIHCM) Outstanding Leadership in Health Care Award. Reinhardt was chosen for his enduring positive impact on the health care system.

Reinhardt is recognized as one of the nation’s leading scholars on health care economics. His current research interests include fiscal, monetary and health policy. 
"Uwe has made significant contributions in the area of health policy and research," said Cecilia Rouse, Wilson School dean. "He is an invaluable member of the Woodrow Wilson School faculty. We celebrate his much-deserved award as one of the leaders in the health economics." 
In addition to his work at Princeton, Reinhardt is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, a past president of the Association of Health Services Research and a former commissioner on the Physician Payment Review Committee. He is a senior associate of the Judge Institute for Management of Cambridge University in the United Kingdom and a trustee of Duke University and the Duke University Health System. He is or was a member of numerous editorial boards, including the Journal of Health Economics, the Millbank Memorial Quarterly, Health Affairs, the New England Journal of Medicine and the Journal of the American Medical Association. Reinhardt is also one of NIHCM’s longest-standing Advisory Board members.
"I am honored to be the recipient of this award. To be recognized among my peers as a leader in the health care community is humbling. I look forward to continuing my work on health care economics and its implication in people’s lives," said Reinhardt. 
The National Institute for Health Care Management is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving the access, quality and affordability in the American health care system. The Outstanding Leadership in Health Care Award is presented to leaders who have made significant contributions to public policy, the marketplace, government or humanitarian field. There have only been three recipients thus far: founding Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of WellPoint Leonard Schaeffer, Founding Director of Dartmouth’s Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences John E. “Jack” Wennberg and Reinhardt. 
Reinhardt was presented his award on Nov. 12 at dinner at the Anderson House in Washington, D.C. The award carries a $20,000 prize, which Reinhardt asked to be donated to Wounded Warriors. 
Photo courtesy of the National Institute of Health Care Management